Book Review: Shatter

Shatter tour banner with covers

Hi there!

What better way to start the year than with a review for a book in one of my favorite series from 2017 ? 

Vampire lore meets ancient Greek mythology in this intense paranormal adventure perfect for fans of Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Fallen!

Shatter_frontcover

Pandora Scott just saved the world…or did she?

Fresh off her victory, Pandora thinks life is finally starting to look up. No one is trying to kill her. A few people actually consider her a close friend. The future is wide open with possibilities. And she’s in love with the boy next door.

But when the titans come crashing into Sonnyville, adamant that the monster she destroyed still lives, Pandora can’t help but wonder if things could possibly be as perfect as they seem. A shocking death forces her to face the truth and understand that what she’d hoped would be the end of the war might really be just the beginning…

Shatter is the fourth and final book in the thrilling Midnight Ice series, a fantasy romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that twists vampire lore and ancient Greek mythology into an intense paranormal adventure!

Available from:

 Amazonhttp://hyperurl.co/AmazonShatter

Applehttp://hyperurl.co/AppleShatter

B&Nhttp://bit.ly/BNShatter

Google Playhttp://bit.ly/GPShatter

Kobohttp://bit.ly/KoboShatter

Smashwordshttp://bit.ly/SWShatter

My Review

Finally (unfortunately) the end of the Midnight Ice series is here! I have spoken about this series and how much I love Kaitlyn Davis’ writing for months now. She is one of my greatest “discoveries” of 2017 and I am so happy and honored to have read and reviewed it completely! She is amazing and her stories are amazing as well. Here are my opinions about “Shatter”.

As opposed to the other three books, “Shatter” has a more strategical approach, if I may say so. It’s like a chess play between Sam and Pandora. They have their own plans and their own allies. One has to identify the other’s weaknesses. So the action is more focused on the characters, on a psychological level, and the bond between Sam, Pandora and Jax.  There is a long road ahead in order to establish a relationship based on trust between conduits and titans, but it seems one cannot manage without the other this time. I don’t want to get into that too much, as I don’t want to spoil your fun.

Shatter Teaser

But far more exceptional is the way the author has portrayed Sam. Throughout the series, he has not been your usual negative character. All his actions have a pretty good justification: he wants Pandora back. And what better way to win her heart one more time than to deliver the world to her? Covered in darkness and destroyed but… whatever. He is led by his feelings, by love. I kind of like him. As opposed to Jax, who has betrayed Pandora some time ago, Sam will make the ultimate sacrifice for her.

Speaking of Jax, he is … in the shadows. You know what I mean, if you have read the previous book. But the love he has for Dory is what actually saves the day. Funny thing is that this exact love is what sent him there in the first place.

This series has been the highlight of my year. I loved it so much. All the books are real page turners and each volume end will be so unexpected. And it is the case for “Shatter” as well. I do recommend the series, I do recommend the author.

So go ahead and read the series and come back to talk about it J Enjoy!

Here is a little of what you can find in the previous books:

FROST (Midnight Ice Book One)

Frost_frontcover

Even the hottest love can turn a girl cold-blooded… Don’t miss FROST, a fantasy romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that twists vampire lore and ancient Greek myths into an intense paranormal adventure!

 Life’s tough for a vampire thief on the run–just ask Pandora Scott, she knows. Four years ago she ran away from home after everyone she loved betrayed her. But now her annoyingly grown up (and handsome) ex boyfriend is stalking her, begging her to return. A mysterious vamp with a particularly dangerous (and sexy) stare keeps popping unexpectedly into her life. The extremely powerful head vampire of New York is hunting her down because she may (or may not) have broken into his highly-secure, highly-secretive personal vault. And the fate she’s been trying to outrun? Well, it’s about to catch up. Because even a super-speedy vamp with the ability to disappear can’t escape her own destiny.

Frost Teaser

Available from:

 Amazonhttp://hyperurl.co/AmazonFrost

Applehttp://hyperurl.co/AppleFrost

B&Nhttp://bit.ly/BNFrost

Google Playhttp://bit.ly/FrostGP

Kobohttp://bit.ly/KoboFrost

Smashwordshttp://bit.ly/SWFrost

FREEZE (Midnight Ice Book Two)Freeze_frontcover

Locked up doesn’t mean locked in.

Pandora Scott is in jail…again. Everyone she once loved betrayed her…again. And some of the most powerful people in the world want her dead…yes, again. Sound familiar? But if there’s one thing Pandora is good at, it’s wriggling her way out of life or death situations, and this time is no different. Armed with her ability to disappear and aided by the mysterious Sam, Pandora’s got a plan. Escape the most secure prison in the world. Evade the most powerful trackers on the planet. Forget every word that Jax has ever told her. And figure out how to change one teeny tiny thing–fate. Easy, right? Well…doable, at least.

Freeze is the second book in the thrilling Midnight Ice series, a fantasy romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that twists vampire lore and ancient Greek mythology into an intense paranormal adventure!

Freeze Teaser

Available from:

 Amazonhttp://hyperurl.co/AmazonFreeze

Applehttp://hyperurl.co/AppleFreeze

B&Nhttp://bit.ly/BNFreeze

Google Playhttp://bit.ly/GPFreeze

Kobohttp://bit.ly/KoboFreeze

Smashwordshttp://bit.ly/SWFreeze

 

FRACTURE (Midnight Ice Book Three)Fracture_frontcover

When you fall for the devil, you’re bound to get burned.

Pandora Scott’s world has blown up once again, but this time she’s learned her lesson–saving the world isn’t a job she can do solo. She needs friends. But when her strongest ally also happens to be the boy who shattered her heart, it’s not as easy as it sounds. Especially since the person she has to destroy might just be the love of her life. With her fate hanging in the balance, Pandora’s got to make a choice. Forgive? Forget? Fight? Or falter? But everything changes when she realizes that the people she thought were heroes might be villains, and the good guys aren’t always as trustworthy as they seem…

Fracture is the third book in the thrilling Midnight Ice series, a fantasy romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that twists vampire lore and ancient Greek mythology into an intense paranormal adventure!

Fracture Teaser

Available from:

Amazonhttp://hyperurl.co/AmazonFracture

Applehttp://hyperurl.co/AppleFracture

B&Nhttp://bit.ly/BNFracture

Google Playhttp://bit.ly/GPFracture

Kobohttp://bit.ly/KoboFracture

Smashwordshttp://bit.ly/SWFracture

Author Bio: freeze_author

 

Kaitlyn Davis, a bestselling author with over a quarter of a million books sold, writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publisher’s Weekly has said, “Davis writes with confidence and poise,” while USA Today has recommended her work as “must-read romance.”

 

Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she’s not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her–about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general–you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.com

Sign up for Kaitlyn’s newsletter to stay up-to-date with all of her new releases, to receive exclusive subscriber bonus content, and more! bit.ly/KaitlynDavisNewsletter

Author Links:

Website: KaitlynDavisBooks.com

Facebook: Facebook.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

Twitter: @DavisKaitlyn

Tumblr: KaitlynDavisBooks.tumblr.com

Wattpad: Wattpad.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

Pinterest: Pinterest.com/kdavisbooks

Youtube: Youtube.com/user/KaitlynDavisBooks

Goodreads: Goodreads.com/Kaitlyn_Davis

Newsletter: bit.ly/KaitlynDavisNewsletter

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Shatter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s