Audiobook Review: Level Me Up

LMU_Badge

I’m so excited for you to join us for the review tour for the audiobook of LEVEL ME UP by Lauren Helms. Follow along with the tour for reviews, plus enter to win a $25 Amazon gift card!

~~~

Can the gamer win the girl in LEVEL ME UP by Lauren Helms? Dex Roberts falls hard and fast for Morgan Lawson, but the last thing Morgan is looking for while attending Comic-Con, is love. Fans of R.S. Grey and Gaming the System series by Brenna Aubrey will love this nerdy and flirty story about what happens when a sweet and sexy pro gamer meets the girl-next-door.  Now available on audiobook!

Title: Level Me UpLevelMeUp

Author: Lauren Helms

Release Date: February 2018

Narrator: Lacey Gilleran

Series: Gamer Boy #1

Genres: New Adult Romance

Length: 5 hours and 42 minutes

Format: Audiobook, paperback, eBook

 

Synopsis:

 The last thing Morgan Lawson is looking for when attending Comic-Con is love. But even prior to exchanging first words, Morgan is drawn to Dex, a drop-dead sexy gamer boy who lives and breathes video games. Before she realizes it, Morgan finds herself caught up in all things Dex.

Dex Roberts knows from the moment he first sees Morgan, he wants more. He falls hard and fast but isn’t surprised when his job as a professional video gamer takes a toll on their relationship.

Once Morgan decides what truly makes her happy, there’s no time to waste. But without warning, life threatens to destroy what both Morgan and Dex want most… each other.

 

Listen Now: Amazon | iTunes | Audible

iTunes – https://apple.co/2EtKeKJ

Audible – http://adbl.co/2Gchdjh

Amazon – http://amzn.to/2o8zwP7

Enter to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Review

Uf, this book gave me some mixed feelings. On one side, I did enjoy the audiobook, I liked the narration very much, but I wanted a bigger explosion, and that explosion was left much towards the end.

We have here a team of Call of Battle (hope I got the name right) players who earn their monthly income by doing exactly what they love: playing games. All the books in the series will follow the team members but book one brings us Dex and Morgan – Dex being the player, game player. He is the perfect guy: good looking, friendly, respectful and sexy as sin! She is a nerd. She knows nothing about games, knows nothing about what being a gamer means and on top of that, has her own family issues.

Let’s start with the writing. It was clean, sweet and gentle. We have a dual perspective story that is very useful in many situations towards the book. There are moments in which one character acts in a way that apparently makes no sense, but once we have his or her POV, all clears up. We have family and friendship as main themes. So I can say it’s all ok on this area. The end brings a solution to all problems. It was unexpected, but a bit rushed to my taste.

LMU1

The characters are not exceptional. They would seem boring, but even boring people have some interesting story. Yes, they are not exceptional (well, Dex kind of is), they are not explosive, but sweet and genuine. I disliked Morgan completely. I tried to find excuses for her behavior in her family issues but her jealousy and refusal to understand or accept Dex’s lifestyle really bothered me. The guy really was sweet!

The narration was great and as I would have imagined. The narrator managed to capture Morgan’s episodes and her frustration and as well as Dex’s inner struggle to understand her and save his relationship, if possible.

So without too much wine and dine, I will go with 3.5 stars for this book, but I can tell you that the series is very promising. The other couples are much more interesting and intriguing. Book two “One More Round” is published already as far as Goodreads shows and I cannot wait to give it a try. I loved Dax, did not like that much Morgan but the book is worth your while big time J Happy Reading/Listening!

About Lauren Helms:lh

Author Lauren Helms has been an avid reader from a young age. After starting a book review site, that launched her fully into the book world, she decided to take the plunge and write her first novel. Since she was working for a video game strategy guide publisher at the time, she decided to mix what she knew best, video games and romance. Jumping all in, she joined NaNoWrimo and a month later had a 50K word first draft. Lauren lives in Indianapolis, IN with her video game playing husband, two little girl book nerds, and a little boy who will hopefully be a gamer boy too some day!

Follow Lauren:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub | Instagram

 

Button_Basic_150pix

One thought on “Audiobook Review: Level Me Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s