Book Review: Her Revolution

Her Revolution tour banner

Her RevolutionCavendish _HerRevolution_EB_FINAL_REVB
by C.S. Hand
Genre: YA Dystopian
Release date: August 8th 2018

Summary:

For fans of Divergent, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes a gripping new tale of ambition, treachery, and love.

When what appears as a prank on arrogant ambassadors at an exotic vacation city turns out to be the first tremors of a revolution, the Enlightened Council of Castillia turns to its 11-year old undefeated military prodigy and her loyal Guardians for help.

After all, it was Innocence who liberated the Jewel of All Cities in the first place. Everyone knows she will be the last to let it slip from her grasp. But why would anyone want to leave Castillia? Its laws are just. Its Council is democratically elected. It has liberated more cities than any other Republic, past or present.

But Castillia has enemies, that’s for sure.

Sedition is the favorite trick of the southern Republic Ausonia. In fact, the exotic vacation city used to belong to Ausonia—and they have always wanted it back. But could those hedonists really organize anything between all their dancing and drinking? Or has Vesper, the mighty Republic to the North finally woken from its slumber? It has plenty of old scores to settle with Castillia and it’s palm-lined streets.

Squashing the uprising and re-uniting the town and her city could be the perfect way to end the most legendary military career Castillia has ever known and begin a new, exhilarating life as a prominent politician. But it also might just be the perfect way to start what Innocence has secretly always yearned for: her own Empire.

Add to Goodreads

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FY4WK18

My Review

This is one of those books that gripped me from the beginning. I am mostly a Romance reader, but indulging in a SciFi, dystopian from time to time is not such a bad thing, especially since it’s worth my time.

The plot is as intriguing as the blurb makes it. It’s a complicated and complex world, a mix between people and cities and politics and hidden agendas. The author did such a great job in imagining the places and the situations. It felt awesome!  What made me love it more, were the chapter headers, with the crowns and quotes. It brought me to the necessary mental state for the action to happen. Extra points for that, definitely!

The main character felt one tiny bit off, but I got used to her. She is very young and has to stand (too) strong and face all that’s coming but she makes a great heroine and I hope to see her grow in the coming books.

For a reader like me, who is not planning on reading “The Hunger Games” soon and has the “Divergent” books still wrapped up in the foil they came (for about 3 years, and I am not kidding, honestly! I can add a picture!), “Her Golden City” is a series worth following. I like the cover, I like the overall presentation of the e-book and I intend to get myself a physical copy and follow up with the series!

Let me know how this book sounds to you in the comments below or if you have read any similar series. Until next time, happy reading!

About the Authorchristopher-scott-hand-kissing-books

C. S. Hand loves philosophy, literature, and science-fiction and fantasy books. He studied British Romanticism at Cambridge before leaving to translate great science-fiction and fantasy books. You can read more about his 3 great loves here.

Author Links:

WebsiteGoodreads

 

 

 

 

 

Giveaway – win an e-copy of this wonderful book!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Organized by:

YA Bound Book Tours

YA Bounk Tour Button

 

One thought on “Book Review: Her Revolution

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s